Luxire

 

I couldn’t have predicted that with a near total collapse of interest in clothing since having a daughter that the next thing I’d yap about on the internet would be custom shirts. But dammit I like the whole Luxire experience.

 

IMG_5995

I’ve never gone in for custom clothing principally because I’m head-strong about what I like and I can’t imagine even a fairly anonymous custom tailor abdicating all editorial control over my britches. And it takes so damned long. And the expense always registered as a risk. And I put off haircuts for 3 weeks longer than I should because I don’t like sitting in the barber’s chair making conversation, so how could I possibly brook the babbling of a tailor?

Luxire feels less like custom and more like a sartorial buffet. I needn’t interact with anyone, I can choose to compile my garment any way I see fit, and the prices are low.

What finally got me over the hump – and I’m sure Luxire understands the potency of this option – was the “test shirt” for a mere $35. This was Macy’s pricing on the ability to sample a custom product and see if it lived up to my standards.

IMG_6238

Well it exceeded them. The fit and finish was superb, the measurements exact, and frankly their test shirt makes a lovely addition to my wardrobe. I simply took my favorite fitting shirt and transcribed the measurements. The only error was my own, in making the cuffs about .75″ too large.

IMG_6236

If you follow Luxire’s exploits on forums and social media you’ll see that they’ve reverse engineered some of the more famous details of other garments, including the Mercer collar. I admit that there’s something unsavory about this sort of copying, but I don’t think it’s hard to justify a collar roll as somewhat generic. In a sense Mercer stands out only in so far as other makers have abandoned their posts on many of these classic details.

IMG_6233

My plan at this point is to continue mapping out a purchase plan. I’ve already ordered my second shirt and am eagerly awaiting its shipment. It’s a pale blue end-on-end with a spread collar. Very basic. The first few shirts will be. But then I plan on some sillier stuff. I’m going for a broad sky blue butcher stripe linen pop-over with a neon orange monogram.

Anyways, it may be a while before I launch into some of their other offerings, but I can’t help but to be curious about some custom trousers or jackets.

To be continued.

TE

 

Leave a Reply

